Are you a full-time architecture student registered in a Canadian architecture program?

You could win a $5,000 scholarship by writing an essay describing the moment when you decided to become an architect!

Submission deadline: March 8, 2017

About the scholarships

The Moriyama RAIC International Prize Scholarships are three scholarships awarded in conjunction with the Moriyama RAIC International Prize.

The Moriyama RAIC International Prize Scholarships are open to students registered full-time in a Canadian university architecture program in the 2016-2017 academic year, and to students registered in 2016-2017 in the RAIC Centre for Architecture at Athabasca University and the RAIC Syllabus Program.

Three scholarships of CAD $5,000 will be awarded.

The award of the scholarships will be based on individual student submissions in the form of an original essay, not to exceed 1,000 words in length, with illustrations that complement and clarify ideas explored in the text.

The essay topic explores the notion of origins and is based on the following question:

Please describe the moment—the circumstances, the nature of the event—when you decided to become an architect, or when you knew that your decision to become an architect was the right one. Your “moment” could be related to an encounter with a single building (like Arthur Erickson’s discovery of Taliesin West in an illustrated article in the August 1946 issue of Fortune Magazine), or with a place (like Le Corbusier’s visit to the Acropolis in 1911). Or it could be related to a series of experiences, discoveries and reflections that eventually led you into architecture.


Submissions will be evaluated on the applicant’s expression of vision and aspiration, and on the strength of personal conviction.

The jury members are :

  • Elsa Lam, MRAIC, editor of Canadian Architect magazine;
  • Cheryl Atkinson, MRAIC, principal of Atkinson Architect in Toronto and associate professor at the Department of Architectural Science at Ryerson University;
  • Shirley Blumberg, FRAIC, founding partner of KPMB Architects in Toronto and a member of the Order of Canada;
  • Terrance Galvin, MRAIC, founding director of the Laurentian University, McEwen School of Architecture;
  • Paul Laurendeau, principal of Atelier Paul Laurendeau in Montreal and a 2016 recipient of a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture.

Deadline for submissions is March 8, 2017.

Please consult the Terms of Reference for submission details.

The scholarships will be presented at a gala in Toronto on September 19, 2017.